Historic Selkirk Lighthouse
Standing as a monument to early lighthouse construction and function, the
Selkirk Lighthouse is unique in structure and
appearance among all of the other lights on the Seaway Trail. Its bird-cage lantern, a hexagonal dome of
glass and iron, predates those which were constructed to house the modern Fresnel Lens. It is one of only six lighthouses in existence to still
have the original unmodified lantern structures.
It was built in 1838, at a cost of $3,000, at the mouth of the Salmon River, in
anticipation of the economic growth in the area.
to silting of the Salmon River, and the failure to attract the railroad, the growth never
occurred, and the Lighthouse Board decommissioned the light in 1859. This resulted in the lighthouse and its lantern missing
the refurbishing of the period:
had the light
remained in service, it would have been upgraded between 1858 and 1860.
Its optic was a 14-inch parabolic reflector with eight mineral oil lamps, and could
be seen for 14 miles. In 1855, the reflector
system was replaced by a Hains Mineral Oil Fountain lamp, a single burner, and a
270° Sixth order
Fresnel Lens, 18-inches in height and 12-inces in diameter.
The current owners purchased the compound containing the
lighthouse in July 1987.
As the key event during
Bicentennial celebrations held on August 6, 1989, they officially activated a Coast Guard
approved, photocell-activated lamp with automated bulb-changer and
are back on the NOAA charts as a Class II navigation aid.
Although private property, the owners rent out the lighthouse to overnight guests.
PO Box 228
Pulaski, NY 13142-0228
Salmon River Lighthouse & Marina
Lighthouse Hotel alongside the Historic Selkirk Lighthouse
the New York State Page
Return to the: Alphabetical Listing or the Listing by States